Inness Jul 2022.jpg

INNESS PRYOR LMHC LPC
(she/her)

Waitlist available for Washington & Oregon residents!

I received a Master's of Education in Community Counseling from Seattle University, followed by additional coursework in a variety of therapeutic subjects. I am licensed in Oregon and Washington, with six years of experience working with adults of all ages and identities in a range of settings. I especially love working with clients who are motivated to explore the following:

dealing with feelings

connecting with personal values

communicating with others

general self-exploration

unpacking inherited beliefs and patterns

identifying and honoring healthy boundaries

increasing self-awareness and acceptance

tending intimate relationships, including those with multiple partners

reducing "over-controlled" behaviors related to anxiety or Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

or who hold any of these identities:

young adult

​polyamorous

sex worker

nerd

non-binary

people pleaser

bisexual/pansexual

I have specific training in Motivational Interviewing (MI) and Exposure & Response Prevention (ERP), but I like to pepper in concepts and skills from a wide variety of clinical styles, such as mindfulness or Radically Open Dialectical Behavior Therapy (RO-DBT). As a former English major, I'm fond of all kinds of meaning making; some sessions may include creative interventions. I have a background in sex education and I am a sex-positive therapist who practices body acceptance.

 

First and foremost, I am a client-centered therapist, which means that I draw on various therapy styles and skills flexibly, in order to best serve your individual needs.  I will always endeavor to hold compassionate, non-judgmental space for you, while simultaneously challenging you in service of your goals.

I identify as a White, middle class, queer, cisgender woman, among other things. I recognize that many of my identities afford me certain privileges; I strive to stay aware of these privileges, and to work with each client from a culturally humble perspective. I am committed to the work of decolonizing my practice, which I recognize as a lifelong pursuit, rather than a goal to be checked off. I regard myself as a perpetual student, always learning.

In my free time, you'll find me creating playlists, taking long road trips and singing very loudly, browsing antique malls and movie rental stores, and preparing to nerd out in book club. I grew up in the Pacific Northwest and I live here with my husband and sister, two dogs, and a cat. (I vacuum a lot.)

See What to Expect for more information on working with me, or click the button below to reach me directly.